The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Incentive to pass this on…… March 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 3:48 am

Let me start by giving a shout out to some great people with some equally great blogs. I recently asked a few people I know, who update their blogs regularly, to post something about Team Charlie Rogan and the March for Babies. I could not have imagined how wonderfully written these posts would be, nor did I expect to receive donations so quickly. So to Edi, Laura Merrill, Ginny and Miki – I’m going to keep this simple and not sappy and just say thank you, ladies, from the bottom of my heart. Your blog posts meant the world to me.

If you haven’t visited these blogs, please check them out:

1. http://themcilwains.blogspot.com
2. http://lauramerrill.blogspot.com
3. http://gpantin.blogspot.com
4. http://mikimc.posterous.com

Now…..here’s where the incentives come in. I’ve decided to do a weekly give away. I’m going to start with something small like t-shirts and stuff, until I see what kind of response I get. I promise you WILL want this stuff…..no crappy prizes!
So how do you qualify to win? Well that’s simple…… If you have a blog, I need you to write a post encouraging your readers to help Team Charlie Rogan raise money for this year’s March for Babies (May 7th) and ask your readers to pass this on. No blog…no problem…..you can do the same thing via email. We raised well over $4000 last year, and we want to raise way more than that this year. (The more money we raise, the more babies who will benefit from the life saving research that is funded by the March of Dimes). So below you will find basic info about our family, Charlie Rogan and Yates’ births, etc. Compose your email or blog post, and when it’s done, comment on this post with your t-shirt size, email address, etc. I will randomly select a winner next thursday. If you have trouble commenting on this post, you can email me and say “its done” at: stephaniebrittgillespie@gmail.com

Here is info you made need, and thanks in advance for “blogging for the cause”:

We are this year’s Ambassador Family for the Mid-Delta Chapter of the March of Dimes. Charlie Rogan was born at 29 weeks and weighed 2 pounds 9 ounces. We stayed in the NICU for 76 days, mostly waiting on her to grow. From the beginning of my pregnancy with her, I had problems. In the beginning, it was just heavy bleeding (the doctors told me I was experiencing a “threatened miscarriage”, and that I may just have to try again to have a baby). At 7 weeks I was put on full bed rest. The bleeding lasted til 16 weeks and then just abruptly stopped. Everything seemed good. No problems. Then at 28 weeks…I started cramping and bleeding. Long story short….my membranes had ruptured prematurely and I had no amniotic fluid left. They call it PPROM (Preterm Premature Rupture of Membranes), and it happens to a lot of people. I was transferred by ambulance immediately to UMC in jackson where I would have stayed until 34 weeks, then they would have induced labor, but Charlie Rogan decided to arrive at 29 weeks. She came into this world a fighter. Today, she’s a healthy and determined two year old.

So when I found out that I was pregnant with Yates, I knew I needed to take every precaution I could to hekp sustain the pregnancy as long as possible. I had a cerclage at 14 weeks, started the 17P progesterone injections at 16 weeks (once a week until 36 weeks) and I was on procardia and macrobid from 18 weeks until 36 weeks. He was born at 37 weeks.

My blog address is: http:meetthegillespies.wordpress.com

They can sign up to walk or donate by going to http://www.marchforbabies.org/stephaniegillespie or http://www.marchforbabies.org/team/t1497416

Our fundraising goal this year is $5000.
Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

