The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Pictures, Memories and My Reality January 30, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 3:54 am

Since we are this year’s Ambassador Family, the Greenwood Commonwealth is going to do a story about Charlie Rogan (and Yates) in the next few weeks, so I have been getting some of Charlie Rogan’s pictures together. I don’t often look at the pictures that I took while she was in the NICU. I’m not really sure why, although those days just don’t seem that long ago, and I think that has a lot to do with it. Tonight, I picked up the photo album with all of those pictures, and for the very first time, I felt honored. I have always felt grateful….grateful CR came through that time, grateful I could even have the children I never thought I would, etc., but I would never have described myself as feeling honored. I now realize that I am honored that I was chosen to fight that battle along side of that strong and beautiful little girl. I can’t think of a more amazing feeling. We won that battle for her life together, and I am a better person because of it. I am honored that I am her mother. Period. I get to watch her grow and experience new things, and I derive such happiness from that. I am honored to have been able to carry Yates to term. He has made me love more than I ever thought I could. These two years since Charlie Rogan’s birth have been an out of control emotional roller coaster to say the least. I am finally coming to the place where I can begin to make sense of it all, and I just realized that I may, in fact, be the luckiest person in the world. Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

