The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Birthday Party Day December 12, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 5:43 am

For Charlie Rogan’s 2nd birthday party, I decided to go with a toned down repeat of her first birthday party. We had it at the Delta Bistro. All in all, it was a nice party. Charlie Rogan could have used a nap (her unwillingness to nap these days gets the best of her at times), but we had family and a few of our special friends there to help us celebrate her big day. Vania and Redmond made the journey from Jackson, and that meant so much to me. Vania was one of Charlie Rogan’s NICU nurses, and I can honestly say she is one of the reasons I survived that time in my life. Her support and kindness helped me through some of the darkest days I’ve known. We grew to be friends during that time and have kept in touch since then. It was also a pleasure to get to spend time with the Dyksterhouse family. I’ve written about Kathryn Dyksterhouse in earlier posts. We emailed almost everyday during our pregnancies with Yates and Langdon (who were born 2 days apart). It was nice to have a chance to see her now that all that is behind us, and to finally meet Mary Laine (who is only 3 weeks younger than Charlie Rogan). Having Kathryn in my life made my pregnancy with Yates a “breeze”. We shared the same fears, concerns, pain and frustration. It was nice to be able to talk to someone who could relate to how I was feeling. I hope our families will remain close for years to come.

Today reminded me how lucky I am and how much I have to be thankful for……..good friends, an amazingly wonderful family and two beautiful children. There is not much more I could ask for.

Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

