The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

National Prematurity Awareness Day November 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 2:00 am

It’s a little late to be writing this post. I had every intention of writing it earlier, but with two under two, time has a way of passing rather quickly. Today is National Prematurity Awareness Day, and I wanted to say a little something about what that means to me.

I have written about Charlie Rogan’s life in the NICU, so I’m sure you have an idea of what life was like in those early days, but until people I knew very well were affected by the premature birth of their babies, I never knew much about prematurity. When Lauren and Claire’s girls were born, I kept up with what was going on through Lauren’s mom. Our parents are good friends. I can honestly say I thought that was a close as prematurity would ever come to affecting my family. I thought I couldn’t have children. Period. Even when I got pregnant and had so many problems, my only thought was that I would lose Charlie Rogan. I never even considered that she may be born early. After that experience, I became far more educated about premature birth. When I was pregnant with Yates, my whole way of thinking was different. I knew that it was a real possibility that he could be born early, so I took every precaution I could to extend his stay in my womb. We made it full term, but he was still considered low birth weight.

I guess the point to all my rambling is that prematurity can affect anyone. It knows no race, age or economic status. My hope on this day is that people will take the time to learn more about prematurity, as well as the March of Dimes. I don’t know where most of us would be without them. They fund the research that helps these tiny babies grow and thrive, even when they should still be in utero. If you would like to learn more about the March of Dimes and the work they do, or if you would like to make a donation to help give more babies a better chance at life, go to http://www.marchofdimes.com
We are proud to say that we were chosen to be the 2011 March of Dimes Ambassador Family for our area. It is truly an honor for our family. I believe with all my heart that the March of Dimes played a big part in helping me have two beautiful children…… Two children I never thought I would have.

(please excuse my writing if it seems a bit scattered……it’s the two under two thing I mentioned before)

Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

One Response to “National Prematurity Awareness Day”

  1. Kathryn Says:

    Yeah!! Congrats! You will be such a great ambassador family!! Hope that everyone is recovering and that you’re catching up on your sleep from the hospital stay. Let me know when everyone is well so that we can get together.


Leave a Reply

