The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

17P to be….discontinued? August 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 1:38 am

I went for my weekly check up today. Everything looks good….gained a pound. I go to the hospital Monday for an ultrasound, and if my cervix hasn’t shortened, I will be able to stop the 17P shots in the next week or two. We are doing this for several reasons….the first reason is because I have developed an allergic reaction to the oil that the progesterone is mixed with. It’s nothing major. I just get a large, red, itchy knot at the injection site, and this is actually somewhat common. The second reason is I will be out of medication in the next two weeks, and my doctor doesn’t see a need for me to order a whole new vial for just two doses. The progesterone will actually stay in my system until right at 36 weeks, so I should be okay. I will continue to take the procardia and macrobid until 36 weeks, when the cerclage is removed. Since I have to be weaned off the procardia, we may start that process around 35 weeks. My estimation is that I should be having the cerclage removed and stopping all meds around September 30th. That’s not far away!!!! I know I say this often (and will probably post something about it again soon) but I never expected to make it this far. I’m truly amazed everyday, and so thankful to possibly have a chance to bring Yates home without spending any time in the NICU. Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

