The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Steroid shots and a morning of fun August 5, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 8:57 pm

When I went to my regular doctor’s appointment, I had no idea that I would spend most of the day in Labor and Delivery at the hospital. Nothing is wrong……he just chose to send me for the steroid shots and some other tests, which required observation for a few hours. It was not fun, but it’s all worth it if it benefits Baby Yates. The steroid shots help speed up fetal lung development, and I knew we would do this at some point…..just in case, but I had no idea today would be the day. The shots aren’t pleasant (have to go back for shot #2 tomorrow), but they can have a HUGE impact on the lungs of a baby who has to be born prematurely. Since little boy’s lungs are sometimes slower to develop, I’m eager to cover all bases. I will also be having weekly fetal non-stress tests and will have to go to the doctor weekly from here on out. Again….nothing surprising.

Today’s fetal non-stress test picked up one contraction but otherwise looked good. I also had an ultrasound today and everything is just as it should be, so I guess we will keep trucking along. Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

