The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

The Curse of a preemie mother June 29, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 2:45 am
Tags:

When spending time in the NICU, parents see and hear lots of things. You hear stories of miracles, stories of tragedies, but most of all you see the tiniest of babies surviving outside the womb. This is honestly a miracle and blessing to witness, but it’s a curse as well. When I found out I was pregnant again, my first goal was to make it to 24 weeks (when a baby has a chance to survive outside the womb). This makes absolutely no sense to most people, but after having a miscarriage in the past and seeing so many 24 weekers survive, it seems logical to me. My next goal is for Yates to make it past 28 weeks. (that’s when things started to go down hill with Charlie Rogan), and my ultimate goal is to carry him to term, but being a parent of a preemie, I now know the chance of survival at every stage of pregnancy. I’m thankful for the experiences I’ve had and the miracles I’ve been lucky enough to witness, but it saddens me that I still have the fear something will go wrong. The good thing is that regardless of what happens in the weeks ahead, I know I can get through it.

 

Leave a Reply

