The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Echogenic intracardiac focus (EIF) June 2, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 2:50 am

When I went to have my level 2 ultrasound last week, I was told that Yates has an echogenic intracardiac focus on one ventricle of his heart. This is basically just a calcium formation on part of the heart. It is not a sign of a heart defect and does not indicate future heart problems. As I have come to find from talking to friends and researching it on the internet, this is seen in quite a few babies (somewhere around 7% of all unborn babies). It can be a marker for genetic disorders, such as Down Syndrome and Trisomy 13. Luckily for me, I had the PAPP-A blood test done which came back with a 1 in 4700 chance that there will be something wrong with Yates genetically. Since an EIF was seen on that ultrasound, that has increased the chance to 1 in 2300, so its still not a big deal. A lot of times, it turns out to be nothing. I will have another ultrasound at 23 weeks and then again at 28 weeks. I always welcome the opportunity to get a peek at my baby.

 

Leave a Reply

