The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

17P and me May 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 2:15 am

If you know me well, you know how terrified I am of needles. Shots, blood tests, if it involves a needle, I panic and act like a 2 year old. That’s why it might surprise many of you that I learned to give myself the 17P shots today, and it wasn’t so tragic. I can not tell you how empowering this is for me. I wanna shout to the world, “I give myself shots….so bring it on”. Of course, I won’t do that. I realize that so many people have to do this daily, so I’m no big deal, but in my own mind, I’m kind of a big deal.
If you don’t know anything about 17P, there is an article about it on the March of Dimes website titled ‘Prevention & Treatment: Preventing Premature Birth: Progesterone Treatment (17P)’. To quote that article, “Since 2003, research studies have found that treatment with the hormone progesterone reduces the rate of premature birth among some women.” I met the criteria for the injections, and after doing my own research and hearing the recommendations from the doctor I saw yesterday, I decided to go for it. Research has shown that it can decrease the chance of premature birth by 1/3. I will take all the help I can get at this point. Insurance doesn’t cover the medication, but the cost isn’t too terrible. If it helps, it will be well worth any money spent. I cannot wait to see what happens from here…….. Sent from my BlackBerry® smartphone

 

Leave a Reply

