The Gillespie Family

Just a family blog

Charlie Rogan May 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Stephanie Gillespie @ 7:27 pm

The last thing I want to do is start a new blog and neglect to talk about the birth of the most amazing little girl I have ever known…..Charlie Rogan.  Its so hard to explain how much I wanted her.  Robert and I had come to the conclusion we just weren’t meant to have a child, and that was that. I had an early miscarriage when we were first married, but then for years nothing happened.  On June 13, 2008, we found out I was pregnant.  We were both worried from the beginning, and with reason.  The bleeding began four days after I found out I was pregnant and didn’t end until I was 14 weeks.  We were told at one point, very early on that a miscarriage was pretty much immenent, but we could try again.  This wasn’t an option, and we knew it.  I was put on bed rest from 6 weeks to 15 weeks, and then my membranes ruptured at 28 weeks, 2 days.  At 29 weeks, Charlie Rogan was born.  She weighed 2 pounds 11 ounces and was 15 inches long. She spent 56 days in the NICU at UMC in Jackson, MS.  We were the lucky ones.  I will always believe that.  No matter how, when and how early she was born, we have our daughter, and it is all that I imagined it would be.  When she was in the hospital, I had a Caring Bridge site for her, but as I said earlier, I was terrible at updating it.  Nonetheless, the web address for that site is www.caringbridge.org/visit/charlierogangillespie

 

Leave a Reply

